Tampopo

image

image

One of my favorite foodie films is the 1985 film, Tampopo, a comedy borrowing themes from the Seven Samurai as a bunch of strangers who come together to help a woman build her ramen shop.  I get so hungry when I watch this movie.

While I grew up eating Cup o’ Noodles and ramen, I have been on the lookout for good ramen in Chicago.  Fresh noodles are key.  So far, my favorite is Noodles by Takashi on the 7th floor of Macy’s downtown.  I particularly like the miso ramen, which comes with slices of braised pork (like from the movie), and is chock full of corn, onions, bamboo slices, beanprouts.  The best part are the noodles, which are just chewy enough to be perfect.

I also had the chicken tatsuta age, which is Japanese fried chicken that is marinated in soy and ginger.  Very tender, moist and flavorful.

I haven’t been to the original Takashi’s, but I have tried various ramen around the city, including Bill Kim’s Urban Belly (the addition of braised pork belly is really good, though).  Noodles is still my favorite so far.

Leave a Reply

